Despite working full time I still volunteer

In celebration of Volunteers’ Week (1-12 June) we’d like to take the opportunity to thank all our volunteers for their help and hard work throughout the year.

 

michaelevans

Michael Evans, Suffolk 

Michael Evans, a Suffolk Dad and Ex navy now man working in local government, started volunteering for CAFOD five years ago. Michael told CAFOD staff why despite working full time, volunteering is worth it. 

 

“CAFOD is nostalgic for me, my Mum had been involved with CAFOD Lent Fast Days etc, throughout my childhood.

“Later I worked in Pakistan for three years, volunteering in a local hospice in Rawalpindi, and although I went on to work in local government I wanted to do something to help those who I had met and lived with poverty first hand.

“I work full time, but I still try to volunteer as much as possible, a couple of times a term I give assemblies and run full day practical workshops about CAFOD’s overseas work.

“If you can volunteer even though you’re working I would definitely recommend it, it is very worthwhile.

“Seeing grumpy faces with folded arms transform into passionate kids getting fired up and really want to be pro-active, it is a wonderful experience and it makes you feel younger again!”

 

“There is a real community aspect too, we have a training day, where there is loads of support and you get to meet other volunteers around the area, which is fantastic.”

St Alban's sixth form cheque donation (I've got a press release for this)

Michael being presented a cheque for CAFOD’s Lent Appeal.

 

Despite all this fantastic help, we still need even more volunteers, in particular to help in a parish/school, and with various roles at our volunteer centre around The diocese of East Anglia.

If you would like to volunteer with us please apply online or please ring Stephen Matthews on 01223 358552 │ 07779 804252

 

Comments:

